Welcome to Watchtower!

Hello, all! Welcome to Watchtower, information home base for all things Smallville. This may seem like a strange welcome as I’ve already posted 6 Smallville entries here, but I simply moved those over from my other blog. Feel free to poke around and check out the recent archives!

From this point forward, Watchtower is where I will go to geek out about my all-time favorite show. I have a lot of plans for Smallville‘s 10th and final season, so I hope you’ll pop by often! Next season I’m going to recap each episode, post all the news, pics and interviews I can dig up (which is a LOT, as I’m a veritable scoophound when it comes to this show), and blog about what makes Smallville so uniquely endearing to me: the mythos, the context, the feminism, the painfully realized character journeys, and most importantly, the drinking. Yep, check out my drinking game! I’ve been playing it for years, which quite possibly explains how I’m damned near 30 and still obsessed with this show.

Some recent scoop has been revealed about Smallville, in addition to the MAJOR news that the 10th season will be Smallville‘s last. I’m personally thrilled with this development. A declared end date gives the writers time to sculpt the ending that such a legendary journey deserves, rather than letting the show just randomly dissolve. I have big plans for the series finale, and I have a feeling TPTB won’t disappoint.

It’s not all shiny, happy news up in here: Allison Mack (Chloe) will not return as a series regular next year. Although I can’t blame her (10 years is a LONG time to be fully committed to a show that films in Canada), I can’t imagine an episode without Chloe’s snarky wit and fierce loyalty. But Mack awesomely declares that she won’t just up and disappear: “Out of respect for the amazingly loyal fans and the place I will always have in my own heart for Chloe, I’m coming back for several episodes next season to tie up Chloe’s Smallville legacy properly.” Phew! Besides, what would Ollie do without her?!

Tom Welling gives a great interview in which he urges Michael Rosenbaum (Lex Luthor) and Kristen Kreuk (Lana Lang) to return for the final ride. Good luck with that, buddy!

An interesting spoilery tidbit about next season’s cast is revealed here. Since the CW is announcing this all over the place, I guess it can’t hurt to repeat: Cassidy Freeman (Tess Mercer) will be returning for the 10th season, despite her major deadness at the end of the finale. I’m guessing that old lady knitting in the hospital (Granny Goodness?) has something to do with that…?

Erica Durance (Lois Lane) and Justin Hartley (Oliver Queen) will also return, thank lordy!

That’s all the dirt I can deliver for today, but check back next week when I post my EPIC Season 9 Review! I’ll briefly recap and grade each episode and make Season 10 predictions based on the collected data! You can check out my mid-Season 9 report card here.

Thanks for stopping by, and if you’re a grown-up who digs Smallville, don’t be shy! I’d love to hear that there are more people than myself and the mister out there!

This entry was posted in Season 10 news and links and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Welcome to Watchtower!

  1. erin says:

    The Smallville Drinking Game should come with a warning label. For your liver!

    Yay!! Love the new blog, lady!

  2. Beardy says:

    Hello new blog! It looks great and I can’t wait to see what scoops you come up with.

Leave a Reply

